Allo' Expat Germany - Connecting Expats in Germany
Main Homepage
Allo' Expat Germany Logo

Subscribe to Allo' Expat Newsletter
Check our Rates
   Information Center Germany
Germany General Information
Germany Expatriates Handbook
Useful Numbers
Immigration Information
  Entry Visa
Work Permit
Germany and Foreign Government
Germany General Listings
Germany Useful Tips
Germany Education & Medical
Germany Travel & Tourism Info
Germany Lifestyle & Leisure
Germany Business Matters
  Sponsored Links

Check our Rates

Germany Immigration Information Entry Visa


Nationals not requiring Visa

EU nationals and those of Iceland, Norway and Liechtenstein, do not need a visa to enter Germany. After three months in Germany you are required to get a residence permit.

Germany is a signatory to the Schengen Agreement, which enables free circulation of residents within Schengen Area countries. A visa granted by one of these countries is valid in the whole Schengen Area. Travelling within the Schengen Area is legally the same as travelling within Germany. If you enter Germany with a tourist visa, you will be able to stay in Germany and/or any other country in the Schengen Area for up to 90 days during any 6-month period.

In addition to Spain, the other parties to the Schengen Agreement are: Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Finland, Greece, Iceland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Spain and Sweden.

Although you can leave the Schengen Area and come back in as many times as you need during your 6-month visa validity, the total amount of time you can stay in the Schengen area cannot exceed 90 days.
A visa granted by one of the Schengen countries is valid in all other member countries.

Countries outside the Schengen Area include Switzerland, United Kingdom & the Channel Islands, Ireland, Morocco, and Gibraltar.

Nationals from non-EU countries who don’t need a visa, for stays up to three months, are:

USA, Andorra, Argentina, Australia, Bermuda, Bolivia, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Hong Kong, Israel, Japan, Korea (South), Macao, Malaysia, Mexico, Monaco, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Romania, San Marino, Singapore, Uruguay, Vatican City, Venezuela and Switzerland.

You can enter Germany without a visa, as long as you don’t plan to do any paid or self-employed work. If you intend to stay longer or wish to work, you have to apply for a visa in your home country (remember that visas are never issued in Germany), so it’s recommended to get a visa before coming to Germany, even if you can enter without one. If you do not do this you will have to go home and apply for a visa before returning to Germany.

Passport valid for at least three months beyond length of stay required by all except EU nationals holding a valid national ID card.

Nationals requiring Visa

Nationals for most African and many Asian countries require a visa to enter into Germany.

More information on visas for Germany can be found at (German Ministry of Foreign Affairs).

See more information on the next page... (next)





copyrights ©
2019 | Policy